Photos on Fabric

It always amazes me how quickly the months fly by, especially after summer is over. Once the fall hits things start happening so quickly! We definitely had an Indian summer here in Georgia, but now the temperatures are cooling down and the days are getting shorter.

I’ve been keeping busy in the studio these past couple months, in part because I’ve been inspired, but mainly because I can control the temperature in here and pretend we’ve been having that crisp autumn weather I love so much. One of my (creative) dreams came true last month; I successfully printed cyanotypes on fabric! Anyone who knows me will tell you I’m obsessed with denim, so naturally, I sourced some nice raw white denim from a local fabric shop for my prints. I also sampled a cotton/poly blend because the texture is more flat and even, but I settled on raw denim because I love the lines in the fabric and the frayed edges.

If you want to print cyanotypes on fabric, I would suggest using a cotton fabric with a low, even weave so that you can get as much image detail as possible. I am going for a unique collaboration of the two mediums I’m using here (cyanotype prints + fabric) so I don’t mind the loss of image detail I have on my prints. As always, for me, it’s all about the process.

Leave a comment