When dreams become day jobs

My Cyanotype Project was an idea I got about a year ago. I’ve always been way into alternative photography, old processes and mixed media art and one day while daydreaming, they all kind of collided into this idea; mixed media cyanotypes! I thought about printing beautiful images on watercolor paper and then painting over them with bright, neon colors. I even thought of drawing over the images, or making double exposures… I just let my imagination run wild. At that same time I was in a pretty hardcore Sergio Leone phase. Spaghetti Westerns were all I was watching! So, that western influence trickled into my cyanotype/mixed media/alt photography idea. Another project I used to dream about was taking portraits of all of my girlfriends. Like, really natural, laid back photo shoots that celebrated the natural beauty of the women I know and love. At this point I had all the pieces and I just put them together; portraits of strong women printed using the cyanotype process, painted over or altered by hand in someway with a western vibe.

It’s been slow going over the past year. I began experimenting with paint and drawing to figure out a look and pallet that I like, I’ve been reading up on cyanotypes (which I will describe in detail in another post), and I’ve been compiling a list of supplies that I need to get going. I recently changed my schedule to allow more time for photography. I’ve decided to actually, actively give my dreams the fire they give me. Yesterday I did my first official photo shoot for this project and I couldn’t be more please with the images. This morning I ordered the supplies to build my own UV lightbox for cyanotype printing (construction of which will also be getting its own blog post). This thing is happening now, and it’s awesome!

 

bbp_gabrielle_negatives_2016

Negatives from yesterdays shoot

 

Leave a Reply

